Skip to main content

Event Details

Event Status
Registration Open
Event ID
1521
Event Name
ORV Safety Education
Program
ORV Safety Education

Registration Open 27 of 30 seats remaining

Location

Location:

E4946 Jackson Rd, Ironwood, MI 49938

Schedule

Date & Times:
Jun 11, 2022 7:30AM - 4:00PM EDT

About this Event:

FOR THIS EVENT:
Once Registered, a confirmation email will be sent with further instructions.
Contact the email address on your confirmation email to set a time to pick up class materials. Please put the "2022 MDNR ORV" course in the subject. You must be registered online for the Course.
The Handbook must be picked up no later than June 3rd (one week before class) and the “Chapter Quizzes” at the end of the Handbook must be completed prior to the Class.
What to Bring: #2 pencils, Highlighter, Sack Lunch. Water will be provided.
No walk-in Registrations
Check in starts 7:30 am. Class starts 8 am sharp.

Details

Organized by:

Deborah L Fergus

Required Files:

Cancellation Policies:

If you are no longer planning on attending this class, please cancel your registration so that those on the waiting list will have a chance to attend.

Event Policies:

Minimum Age Policies:

There are no minimum age policies

Maximum Age Policies:

There are no maximum age policies

Map:

About the Program

Overview:

The main purpose of the ORV safety education course is to educate and develop safe, knowledgeable and responsible ORV owners and operators. Topics covered include correct riding techniques, protective equipment, understanding terrain and trail operation, laws and regulations, causes and prevention of crashes, and environmental concerns and reporting responsibility. 
Any ORV operator 16 years old and younger riding on public or private land is required to pass an approved ORV safety course. Michigan’s ORV education course is taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors, sheriff’s deputies and Michigan conservation officers. 

About the Class: 
  • In person, traditional classroom setting 
  • 6 hours minimum class time 
  • Written test (75% or better to pass) 
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age shall be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.