Skip to main content

Event Details

Event Status
Registration Open
Event ID
Event Name
ORV Safety Education
ORV Safety Education

Registration Open 34 of 35 seats remaining



10599 Twin Lake Rd NE, Mancelona, MI 49659


Date & Times:
May 04, 2024 9:00AM - 4:00PM EDT

About this Event:

On Saturday, May 4, 2024, Kalkaska County Sand and Snow along with the Michigan Department of Natural Resources will host a one day, in person, class on ORV Safety. The class is free of charge, but you must register for the class ahead of time as space is limited. Please register early to reserve your seat. In this class, you will learn safe and responsible off road vehicle operation. An ORV Safety Certificate is required for all operators under 16 years of age. There is not a minimum age for enrollment, but attendees will need to be able to read, comprehend, and successfully pass a written test to receive a Safety Certificate. There is not a maximum age for the class either. We regularly have parents and grandparents taking the class, there is something we all can learn. The class will run from 9am to 4pm with a break for lunch. Lunch will be provided by Kalkaska County Sand and Snow. Class material will be provided at the start of the class.


Organized by:

Rick Norey

Required Files:

Cancellation Policies:

If you are no longer planning on attending this class, please cancel your registration so that those on the waiting list will have a chance to attend.

Event Policies:

Minimum Age Policies:

There are no minimum age policies

Maximum Age Policies:

There are no maximum age policies


About the Program


The main purpose of the ORV safety education course is to educate and develop safe, knowledgeable and responsible ORV owners and operators. Topics covered include correct riding techniques, protective equipment, understanding terrain and trail operation, laws and regulations, causes and prevention of crashes, and environmental concerns and reporting responsibility. 
Any ORV operator under 16 years old riding on public or private land is required to pass an approved ORV safety course. Michigan’s ORV education course is taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors, sheriff’s deputies and Michigan conservation officers. 

About the Class: 
  • In person, traditional classroom setting 
  • 6 hours minimum class time 
  • Written test (75% or better to pass) 
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age shall be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.