Skip to main content

Event Details

Event Status
Registration Open
Event ID
7306
Event Name
Boater Safety Education

Registration Open 6 of 12 seats remaining

Location

Location:

501 E. Bay St., Harbor Springs, MI 49740

Schedule

Date & Times:
Jul 21, 2024 10:00AM - 12:00PM EST

About this Event:

This Boater Safety Education class is being held as a take home study for enrolled students. Students will be required to pick up a copy of the Marine student manual at Walstrom Marine (located at 501 E. Bay St.) prior to July 12, 2024. You can call 231-526-2141 ext. 124 to schedule pick-up. Students must review the manual on their own and arrive for the "in-person person field day" with the end of chapter exercises completed. Students that do not complete this requirement will not be admitted into the class. Reviewing the manual and completing the end of chapter exercises should take approximately 4-6 hours. The in-person field day will consist of a legal review and final exam. Upon successful completion of the end of chapter exercises and test the student will be issued a Boater Safety Certificate. There is no age limit to attend the class. However, students must be able to read, comprehend, and pass a written examination (80% score or higher). All students 10 and under must have an adult attend the in-person training with them.

Details

Organized by:

Jill - Miller

Required Files:

Cancellation Policies:

If you are no longer planning on attending this class, please cancel your registration so that those on the waiting list will have a chance to attend.

Event Policies:

Minimum Age Policies:

There are no minimum age policies

Maximum Age Policies:

There are no maximum age policies

Map:

About the Program

Overview:

The main purpose of the boater safety education course is to train knowledgeable, safe and responsible boaters. Topics covered include general boating and water safety, navigational rules, causes and prevention of crashes, operation and fueling techniques, environmental concerns and reporting responsibility. 
Any motorized boat operator born after June 30, 1996, is required by law to pass an approved boater safety course and to carry a boater safety certificate. In addition, boater education is also required for all PWC operators born after December 31, 1978. Michigan’s boater education course is taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors, sheriff’s deputies and Michigan conservation officers. 

About the Class: 
  • In person, traditional classroom setting 
  • Written test (80% or better to pass) 
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age shall be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.